IGNITION

 
 
 
Fire that rages without consuming its host
Stinging each nerve until sleep is impossible
And judgment crumbles into gray ash,
It burns me now.
And no matter how fast I run
The flames are faster.
They lick at my skin and crawl
Up my legs
Melting muscle off bone
And desire away from reason
Until there’s nothing left
But pulsation
That won’t stop thumping inside my ears
And between the stems that failed
To carry me away
From the danger in your eyes
And the poison on your lips.
Now I can’t move
For your hand reached for mine,
Your fingers laced between,
And the ember once forgotten
Gathered strength and
Smothered my resolve.
 
 
 
2 Responses to “IGNITION”

  1. A passionate and powerful poem, beautifully crafted.

Leave a Reply

